General questions: Data Migration / MongoDB recreate

Greetings!

I’m a new KoboToolbox admin and have a KoboDocker server under Linux. I have learned the most part of the documents accessible through the internet and have a pair of questions.

1. The Data migration during Updates
  • It is supposed that Kobo code is referring some special fields in its internal databases. Is there exist a possibility that a new code would be incompatible with the previous databases? What to do in this case?
  1. The document published at

https://www.kobowiki.org/index.php?title=Restore_procedures

say, that it is possible to recreate MongoDB based on the PostgreSQL data, however, the PostgreSQL dump done with the backup_postgres.bash shows no data on the running Kobo server that already contain many survey data. The dump specify just a public scheme and some general database configurations.

For the second question it seems that I found the solution. Anyway it is interesting to listen to the opinion of the more experienced admins on how canonical is it.

Problem:
In the script backup_postgres.bash it is used a KOBO_POSTGRES_DB_NAME environment variable, however it is absent in the clean KoboDocker installations.

Solution:
Append into the files envfile.local.txt and envfile.server.txt the next line:
KOBO_POSTGRES_DB_NAME=kobotoolbox

After the docker-compose restart, the backup_postgres.bash will recover it’s work.

Hello friends and Happy Christmas to all.