Adding isiXhosa and Afrikaans languages to Forms

Dear Forum,

We do data collection in Informal Settlement communities in and around Cape Town(South Africa) about their access to basic services. We create the questionnaires using the form builder inside the Kobo Toolbox. The problem is that a lot of our respondents struggle with English. Is their a way to create a from that ask a choice of language at the start , eg “Choose your language : a) Afrikaans, b) English , c) isiXhosa.”? Then the form automatically translates all the questions from English to either of the non-English languages? Im not a coder and an amateur at Kobo Collect(though using it for three years now). Any help would be highly appreciated.

Hi @dag1986,

May I suggest you to read this wonderful article, you can make your from in multiple languages? I also checked, there is Xhosa as a language code, but I’m not sure if isiXhosa and Xhosa are same or not?

https://support.kobotoolbox.org/language_xls.html

If you need further help, don’t hesitate to ask.
Best,

1 Like

Hi @hakan_cetinkaya , thank you for this. I will check out the article and let you know what happened. And , yes, isiXhosa is the Xhosa way of saying Xhosa(normally used by English speaking people), so the same thing.

1 Like

@dag1986, this support article Adding Another Language in the Project Dashboard should also be helpful if you are using the Formbuilder.