Creating form - Mandatory Response

Hello everyone,
I started to create forms on KoBo and got stuck with a problem concerning the mandatory response.
I would like to make
Either:
that one question out of two is mandatory to be answered
or:
2. question is only showing up if the first question is a default.

I tried different things but didnt work and also not finding any helpful hinds in the Navigation.

Hi @h_kriedemann,

Welcome to the community! You could control this with the Custom Logic feature that is within the Mandatory Response as discussed in our previous post:

Have a great day!

ok, thanks a lot for the quick response.
How do I express the custom logic if I wanna say: only mandatory if question 1 is default/not answered?
Sorry, I am not very experienced in the informatic field.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Hi @h_kriedemann
In this situation, all you need is a skip logic. I suggest you look at our article here and get a better understanding of how to apply “skip logic”.

Stephane

1 Like

thanks @stephanealoo for your answer. I am familiar with the skip logic - I can use it for conncecting the two questions, but not with defining the option which makes a question mandatory or not.
My problem is that I dont know how to fill the part at custom logic (“only mandatory if…”)
Ca you help?

Greeting, Helene

Hi Helene,
Your statement contradicts itself. In summary you cannot make a question mandatory on only some instances. Unfortunately that is not supported.

Stephane

1 Like

oh, what a pity. So I can not say that either on or an other question has to be answered mandatory? I thought this is what the custom logic is for?

Hi,
You can allow the question to be open such that an answer is provided or not provided by setting the required=false. An alternative approach is to create two different questions e.g.

• OptionalQuestion1 which is mandatory and thus a skip logic would lead the person to it.