Filter answer choices by date

Hello! I would like to filter the available answer options in a select multiple question by the date. Ideally, it would only show sample IDs that are expected to be collected within 3 weeks of the datetime the user selects.

I tried just filtering with a less than (shown below) as a trial. No options showed up.
int(decimal-date-time(date_filter) - decimal-date-time(${datetime_extraction})) < 21

Where:

• date_filter is the filter choice on the list. It represents what date we expect the sample would be processed. I formatted as date-time on the csv hoping that might prevent calculation issues with different formats.

• datetime_extraction is what the user selects (in date-time format). It represents the actual date the processing is occurring.

I’m new to Kobo but thought this would be a useful approach for our study. It is also worth noting I’m doing this using an external form (select_multiple_from_file) but am certainly open to putting all on the same XLS form if that helps.

Welcome @sphilto,
Could you provide the related part/extract of your XLSForm, please, incl. choice_list examples?

I would recommend to first develop the solution without pulldata.

You may also have a look at a previous discussion found with the recommended search function of the forum:
https://community.kobotoolbox.org/t/epidemic-calendar-as-reporting-period/2232

Hints:
If the date_filter is a column of the choices it is a text value there (not a datetime). So, you may need to convert it first https://getodk.github.io/xforms-spec/#fn:date
int(…) will cut off any decimals.

1 Like

Hi @sphilto ,

The video below makes it practically clear for you.

Sorry for the late response!

Your hint of converting the date_filter to date was the key!