Geotrace with dynamic default response

Dear all,

I’m new to both KoBoToolbox and XLSForms, so apologies if what I’m about to ask is considered basic knowledge.

For my survey I need respondents to draw a line on a map using the geotrace function. Different users will need to start their geotrace lines from a limited number of possible starting points (in my case: a set of train stations on a network).

To simplify analysis, I’d would like standardise the starting point by pre-drawing this first point on the map. This can be achieved by entering the GPS coordinates in the default response-field. However, as different users will need different starting points, I would like respondents to first select their starting point in a ‘select one’ question and then set the coordinates related to this answer as the default response value on their geotrace map.

The way I see this now, I would firstly need to translate the (textual) answer in the ‘select one’ question to a (numerical) GPS coordinate, and secondly feed these coordinates into the default response field of the ‘geotrace’ question.

Is this possible? If so, I would very much appreciate your thoughts on how to achieve this effect.

Welcome to the community, @JohanKlaasK! I don’t know if it helps but we have a post discussed previously which should help you upload a predefined GPS location:

Thank you for your quick response.

I’ve read that post, and indeed it taught me how to add a point to a geotrace map. However, what I’m still struggling with is how to make this point dynamic, i.e.: that the point which is displayed can vary depending on the answer which a respondent has previously given to a ‘select one’-question.

Welcome,
As far as I know a default can also be dynamic. Or you could use a calculation with once(…).
I am not sure if you can use an if(… expression) as default, but at least you could create a calculate type and reference it in the default.