How do we automatically input the value entered from a previous variable to the next variable?

Hello…
I am newbie here…

I’m building a health research form.

there is a question about the gestational age of the mother
with numeric answers (in weeks) [B5_GA]

then there are more questions

is the pregnancy between 20-40 weeks [E3_RA]? yes and no answer

is it possible that Kobo can make an automatic answer from the question [B5_GA] for [E3_RA]?

Thank you

Hi @dy10,

Welcome to the community! You could do the same by following the instructions as outlined in the image below:

In the xlsform survey tab:
Image%201

Reference xlsform:
auto-fill preloaded information.xlsx (9.8 KB)

GOOD DAY!

1 Like

thank Kal_Lam for the answer but i mean like image below ::

Hi @dy10,

Please follow the instructions as outlined in the image below. It has 2 different options:

In the survey sheet of the xlsform:

In the choices sheet of the xlsform:
Image%202

Reference xlsform:
auto-fill preloaded information v2.xlsx (10.8 KB)

GOOD DAY!

1 Like

Where should I put the formula?
Is the validation code or skip logic?

thanks

Hi @dy10,

You should type the formula under the calculation column as shown in the figure above. For reference, please see the attached xlsform.

GOOD DAY!

Dear @dy10,
it is in the calculation column (as in @Kal_Lam example…

If your calculated variable can not be changed by the user, the type should better be “calculate” (or set as read_only = yes, if you want to show it).
Side-note: If possible, I would prefer to do calculations not KoBo, but after data export.)

There might be 2 small problems with the example from Kai.

1. With your type “select_one …” the user can still change the calculated variable,
  2. If the Gestatiional age is empty, the calculation wou[d also produce No (2), but might better be empty.