Soft and hard ranges

Hi there

I am new to Kobo and looking for some help. I can’t find anything about soft/hard ranges when putting validation criteria in fields. There are always outliers in every dataset so I’m wondering if there is a way to set soft ranges e.g. 0-9 which will allow a value outside this range to be entered with a pop up saying value out of range, please check and continue (or something like that).

Many thanks for any advice!
Steve.

Welcome to the community, @Stcamera! Could you share a dummy question and the criteria that should match for an entry? Maybe the community could then help you out with it.

Welcome @Stcamera ,
You can use a following acknowledge type and a relevant clause (instead if a constraint for the original question = hard control).

You can also use a note, type, but the advantage of acknowledge is that the user’s confirmation (“OK”) is stored in the case data.

1 Like

Thanks! So we are collecting spirometry data on asthmatics. One of the questions is Peak expiratory flow (PEF) which is measured in litres/second. The expected range is 0.5-5.5 litres/second and I want to add this as the range. However, there will always be a few values that are outside this range. I want to be able to include these values but if I use 0.5-5.5 as the validation criteria I am not able to enter anything outside this range as it is a hard range. Is it possible to set the criteria so that the range is more of a check than a fixed limit?

Hi, thanks for this. Do you have an example of a following acknowledge type and a relevant clause?

type = acknowledge
label = Warning to confirm
relevant = condition for warning.

You can find more in the Help Center article Acknowledge question type — KoboToolbox documentation please.

1 Like

Thank you! I am still trying to navigate the Kobo site so this is very useful :slight_smile: