GPS - data recieved looks way off

Hi

I am assisting an NGO collecting feild data with the Kobo Collect app. They sent me the data in a spreadsheet format. The attributes of the survey look fine. the GPS data looks like garbage - out by factors ranging from 10 to the power 13 to 11. It looks like the data was manipulated ina spreadsheet.

1. is the GPS location data stored somewhere and is it retrievable? As i understand samsung tablets were used.

2. for the data capturing to proceed a datum must have been specified - I am guessing / or is this automatically detected by the device?

3. If i received rubbish coordinate data, how can one backtrack for me to receive sensible data so i can help the people i am assisting?

thanks
Uma

• I am new to kobo collect. I am bringing in the NGO’s data into arcview.

@giscapetown, request for access to kobotoolbox account created for the data collection and extract the data yourself. It could be a conversion done by excel version.

1 Like

Hi @giscapetown,

Welcome to the community! As suggested by @reverton, you could have a look at the data in KoBoToolbox (Account: Data). But the data in the server might have been changed (cleaned). To overcome this, you could also have a look at the KoBoCollect (android mobile app). The sent data is generally stored in View Sent Form. The data seen in View Sent Form is generally the primary data which has been sent to the server (which is usually not changed, unless and until it has been edited in the Edit Saved Form before sending the Finalized Forms.

thanks - i am green to kobo tool can i install it on a pc? it will make things much easier. I will also request access to the account as suggested. thanks Uma

i just requested the tool box account link

Thanks Kal and Reverton.
i will see if the NGO can provide the db link requested. I suspect it is an excell version issue. Perhaps one can get the data exported as an ascii / txt file?