Language selection for a multi-country survey

Hello Everyone,

I am developing a survey form that will be deployed in multiple countries. So, I am including multiple languages in XLS form.

Is there a way to make language selection automatic, say, based on the selection of the country? I would like this restriction to be able to know where the data was collected.

Thanks,

Hello @ssp,
Workaround: You might clone your form for specific country versions. You might just rename the XLSForm columns to a non-valid name like **XX_*label: …
Disadvantages: You will get separated datasets and be careful to synchronize any form changes to all clones.

1 Like

Dear @wroos Thank you for you message. Do you mean that I create a first form and then clone it? Once the cloned form is available, download the XLSF and add a new language?

Can you please explain more? I am quite new to KoBo and have tried to build my first form In two languages. I am concerned about how data from multiple forms will be merged to create a single multi-country data for analysis.

No, as far as I know. But @Kal_Lam might explain more. Also, how the Browser or Collect configuration language influences the default.

You can only define one of your form languages as default_language in the settings.

Why not leave it to the user to select her/his language?? You can get the country by a variable/question in your survey.

You probably know the article of the Help Center Adding Another Language to your XLSForm — KoboToolbox documentation

If you really need to separate, you could use one design form with multiple languages and than, for each country version (clone) deactivate the non-relevant language columns by changing the column names to an invalid name, e.g. by a prefix: XX_label;:English (en).
Later, exported datasets (with same structure!) can just be combined e.g. in Excel.