Hide field until 5 or more questions have been answered (composite index)

I’m new to kobotool. I’m trying to get responders to grade the severity of 7 symptoms by selecting one of 4 options - none, mild, moderate, severe. The selection returns a numerical value of 0, 1, 2 and 3, respectively. The maximum total severity score is 21 maximum (3 x 7). However, the total severity score is only valid when at least 5 questions have been answered. The preview shows the total score increasing with each question answered but I want it to show only after 5 querstions have been answered. I tried using skip logic but it works if any or all 7 questions are answered. Is there a way to prevent the total severity score from showing until the responder has answered at least 5 of the 7 questions. I’ll be very grateful to anyone who can help.

You can add a calculate line after each question (calc1, calc2 etc), with an if statement:

if(${q1}='',0,1)
if(${q2}='',0,1)
etc…

Then after all the questions, add another calculate line with

calc_total = calc1+calc2+calc3+calc4+calc5+calc6+calc7

and use a relevant column in your total severity score
calc_total >= 5

1 Like

Hello,
I think in the if expressions there should be no space. So, ‘’ or “”" would make it working. As far as I know those empty values are represented as empty, not as a blank.

1 Like

Hello,
Could you send us part of your form here, please, for better support.
Also your skip should work, if you integrate the empty value option, for example with coalesce(…).

1 Like

Yes, in my code there is no blank space between the quotes. It seems like that because it’s a monospace font.

If you upload your existing from I can try to add the constraints.

1 Like

Thanks.
I may be doing something wrong because the severity score does not show after I add calc_total >=5 in the relevant column, even after I answer all 7 questions.